Anand wrote:
Ltely I have started to get messages from various postmasters saying
that a
message I have sent to some email address I don't recognise, carries
the
W32/Netsky.p@MM!zip virus. I presume that the contaminated messages
are from
some other machine, with my address spoofed as the sender.
I presume this because I am running Linux only (with a firewall). Am
I being
complacent?
I used to see a lot of that sort of stuff (for other viruses) last
year when I was still on dialup - even if I had been infected and
online at the time the messages were sent, I'm sure I'd have noticed
my modem exploding.
Maybe they sent you the original spoofed headers, so you can check
whether the original "Received: from" line gives your domain name
alongside a spurious IP address. I expect they haven't, though -
these bounce messages aren't so much attempts to fight abuse as
attempts to advertise antivirus products.
--
JBR
Ankh kak! (Ancient Egyptian blessing)
-
----------------------------------------------------------------------
You can find the EdLUG mailing list FAQ list at:
http://www.edlug.org.uk/list_faq.html