[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Edlug Archive Apr 2004 ]

Re: [edlug] Strange mail relaying DOS.



Steve Kemp <edlug@xxx.xxx.xxx> writes:

<snip>
>   I know that foo@xxx.xxx.xxx isn't a valid email address
>  and I'm unsure why this was being relayed in the first place
>  (although I have a hazy idea that 'foo@xxx.xxx.xxx]' is valid).

foo@[xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx], I think.

>   I couldn't simply firewall off the injecting machine as
>  the messages were coming from multiple machines - more and
>  more as the addresses I killed off were dropped.
>
>   As an example the transactions went something like this:
>
> HELO blah
> MAIL FROM: foo@xxx.xxx.xxx   <- mail servers IP
> RCPT TO: foo@xxx.xxx.xxx
> DATA
> To: foo@xxx.xxx.xxx
> From: bar@xxx.xxx.xxx
> Subject: get your hot spam
>
> ...
> .

That's not a good thing :-(.

>   The messages were queued and the bounces from hotmail
>  were coming back to the nonexistent user 'foo@xxx.xxx.xxx'

That's really not a good thing :-((.

If you telnet from your server to relay-test.mail-abuse.org, they will
try to relay through your server (trying all sorts of interesting
tactics).  They won't blacklist you if you turn out positive.

You can also check openrbl.org to see if you're listed on any of the
blacklists as a spam source or an open relay (I suspect you might well
be by now).

OK,
-- 
Andrew Aylett | www.aylett.co.uk | 1.79 x 10^12 furlongs per fortnight...
andrew@xxx.xxx.xxx | answer==42 |  -- it's not just a good idea, it's the law!

Attachment: pgp00004.pgp
Description: PGP signature



This archive is kept by wibble@morpheux.org.DONTSPAMME
homepage